About the Gear: Camera Stuff

Several readers of Dondo Outdoors have asked about the camera gear I use, so here’s a list:

  • Canon XS (1000D) DSLR with kit lens
  • Slik Sprint Pro II Tripod (with center column left home)
  • Cokin P filter holder with polarizer, graduated ND filter, and ND filter
  • Lowepro Topload Zoom Mini camera case (with strap left home)
  • Photoshop Lightroom

That’s it.  Which is most important?  IMO, it’s the nut behind the viewfinder.  I’ve been inspired by photographers using a simple point-and-shoot and left cold by photographers using the best 4×5 equipment.  And vice versa.

It’s my view that what’s in your heart and your head and the skills that you’ve developed have a lot more to do with the success of a particular image than the equipment you use.  If you can’t see it, you can’t photograph it.  If you’re not feeling it, then neither will your viewer.

That said, I’m finding it a lot easier to express my vision with the kit listed above than I did with my point-and-shoot camera and homemade UL tripod.  The penalty, of course, is the weight.  Putting the above gear all together on a scale gets me to four pounds, two ounces (1871 g).  Serious photographers may find the above kit absurdly inadequate; lightweight backpackers may experience it as a crushing burden.  In the end, it’s up to individual hikers to decide what their priorities are and what they are willing to carry.

2 thoughts on “About the Gear: Camera Stuff

  1. I also use the Cokins! Love how fun they can be (I got a load of really kitschy ones as a present, one of them even has a rainbow printed on so you can give every scene a rainbow).

    Totally agree about the weight being worth it, I’ve gone hiking with just a tiny waterproof camera a few times, and it does take decent pictures, but even though it saves almost two Kg it’s just too limiting a tool. I went back to using a DSLR.

    Most of the time saving weight is worth the minor inconveniences it entails, but sometimes it’s not. Like ultra-light rucksacks that skip the padding and make a light load feel heavy.

    • Hi Tomas, so far I’ve stayed pretty conservative with the Cokins, but then again my birthday is coming up. 😉

      Having tried frameless rucksacks, I have to agree with you. Even with light weights, a little padding and structure goes a long way toward making the load more comfortable to carry.

      BTW, love your blog. The wide-angle night shot from your perch above Stockholm is amazing.

Leave a Reply

